A beautiful mess

如果只有兩年可以揮霍, 那就留給紐約吧!

[iloveblog6] This time of the year。

with 4 comments


Boxing Day, Selfridge.

30。

Which translates to HOLIDAY. Tree lighting, holiday spirit flowing around, stores start putting out Christmas trees for sale. Oh, did I mention the holiday sale? Black Friday, Cyber Monday, Friends&Family and all that. It’s definitely the most exciting yet craziest shopping season of the year and the busiest one for retailers!

For some reason, I kinda track/follow different retailers’ newsletters/marketing initiatives and so on (I’ve subscribed to more than 10 newsletters, which is not that much, but still). It’s actually pretty interesting to observe how retailers deal with the most important time of the year, and how they get their communication across. Some are bombaring customers (like me) with more than 4 emails a week, some offer deep discounts while some don’t really compromise the holiday sale chaos but still having a blast during the holiday season (I totally wanna work for them by the way).

Here comes my all-time favorite.

For some unknown reason, I got their private sale direct mail piece again this year (which attached 4 $25 off $100 purchase coupon). I don’t even know how I get on their list since I don’t really shop there much (I probably spend more in Duane&Reade or CVS than in Bloomie). With that said, I still enjoy receiving all their direct mail including postcard, catalog, and private sale coupon though (well, who can resist all these?).

Finally it comes to the last post of iloveblog6 30-day blogging torture marathon. It’s surprising that I choose to end this series with a holiday shopping post.

Well, what can be more New York than Bloomie? (I’m just saying…this is totally not a legitimate statement=P)

[FYI]
ok, I kinda cheated on this photo. This is not even in New York. It’s the boxing day in London about 3 years ago I think.

Written by katyyen

December 5, 2009 at 22:39

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hi Katy!
    恭喜你完成了iloveblog6的30天挑戰! ^^ 你的blog有被提名投票囉
    抱歉 ubcle.com 在活動期間的第26天掛掉了…
    現在暫時可以從這個網址 http://72.29.66.35/~ubcle/phpBB3/ 進入 投票在Bulletin Board裡.. 恭喜你挑戰成功!!🙂

    ivy from ubcle

    December 6, 2009 at 02:31

  2. i knew it! it’s selfridge in london! right?

    yvette

    December 6, 2009 at 15:30

    • 這樣你也看得出來…那大概是我目前為止看過最crazy的holiday sale人潮。

      Katy Yen

      December 6, 2009 at 15:48

  3. lol

    Jen

    December 7, 2009 at 10:35


Leave a Reply

